Meeting date/time/location are subject to change. Please contact Linda Miner at 316-838-3090 or by email to confirm this information.

The business and affairs of the Kansas Public Telecommunications Service, Inc. (KPTS) is managed under the direction of a Board of Trustees. The Board consists of no fewer than 9 members. The Board elects a Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer. Trustees serve two, three-year terms and are divided into three classes. If you are interested in serving as a Trustee, please contact Victor A. Hogstrom.

All KPTS Board of Trustees and Trustee Committee meetings are open to the public. All meetings are held in the KPTS studio located at 320 W. 21st Street North, Wichita, KS 67203.

Board of Trustee meetings are held the 4th Tuesday of every month (excluding December) from 11:30am to 1:30pm. Please contact Linda Miner for date/time/location of the annual meeting.

Visitors will be permitted to attend and observe regular meetings of the KPTS Board of Trustees. Any visitor will be introduced to the Board and will be permitted to address the Board only upon written request to the Chair two weeks prior to the meeting.

Board of Trustees (4th Tuesday of every month) 11:30 to 1:30 – KPTS Studio
July 25, 2017
August 22, 2017
September 26, 2017
October 24, 2017
November 28, 2017
No December Meeting (12/26/17)
January 23, 2018
February 27, 2018
March 27, 2018
April 24, 2018

May 22, 2018 (KPTS held a closed session of the Board of Trustees on May 22, 2018 to consider matters relating to personnel.)
June 25, 2018 (Teleconference meeting for 10:30 a.m. (You can participateat the station.)

June 26, 2018 (annual)

Finance Committee (Meets Quarterly – prior to Board meeting unless otherwise noted) 9:00 to 10:00; KPTS Studio or Conference room
July 20, 2017
October 19, 2017
February 22, 2018
May 17, 2018

Governance Committee (Meets Quarterly – First Tuesday of the Month) 11:30 to 1:00; KPTS Conference room
August 8, 2017
November 14, 2017
March 16, 2018
June 12, 2018

Fundraising & Development Meetings Called as Necessary
Personnel Committee Meetings Called as Necessary
Strategic Planning Task Force Meetings Called as Necessary
Legislative Task Force Meetings Called as Necessary


Brian Adams (Chair) is a Vice President, Private Client Advisor and Team Leader for The Commerce Trust Company. He serves as a senior consultant and relationship manager providing clients with personalized objective advice.

Ted D. Ayres currently serves as Vice President and General Counsel for Wichita State University. He became the first in-house counsel for Wichita State University in May of 1996.

Jon Callen is president of Edmiston Oil. He is a long-time supporter of KPTS, and is an Emeritus Member of the KPTS Board of Trustees.

Barry Gaston is president and owner of Gaston Marketing, a company which produces radio and TV commercials for clients nationwide. Before Gaston Marketing, he was involved in radio broadcasting as a manager and owner of several radio stations.

Tisha Johnson
is a Resource Management Analyst for Westar Energy with a history of working in the utilities industry.

Jacqueline Kelly (Secretary) currently serves as the City Attorney for the City of Bel Aire. Prior to moving to Kansas, she served the Department of Defense as a contracted Project Analyst for emerging technology incentives in Suffolk, Va.

Jim McCann operates Jiminy Advertising, a full-service advertising agency. He is also Media Director for Wonderful Wichita Digital Billboard Advertising where he creates graphic designs for LED boards and markets several independently owned digital boards.

Ruth Ann Messner was writer/owner/publisher of The Wichitan Magazine; an adjunct English instructor at Butler Community College; and is now owner/manager of the 96-unit, Cloudridge Apartment complex in Andover.

Karen Norton (Treasurer) was Head of the Independent School for 26 years, retiring in 2006. Since then, she has written several books, traveled extensively, and is active in her community.

Jay Prater became Managing Meteorologist at KAKEland WeatherPlex in January 2004. He was designated as the first Certified Broadcast Meteorologist™ by the American Meteorological Society®, and also maintains both Television and Radio Seals of Approval from the National Weather Association.

Marilyn Schmidt recently retired from her position as supervisor of Adult Services at the Newton Public Library after 36 years. She continues to lend her time and talents to a variety of community organizations.

Denise Sherman
serves as Director of Organizational Partnership at the Center for Corporate Learning for Southwestern College. This is a culmination of her interests: leadership, lifelong learning and entrepreneurship.

Denny Senseney founded Senseney Music, a retail music business he owned and operated from 1978 to 2008. He has worked and volunteered extensively in the area of music.

Rachel Wetta is a partner at Foulston Siefkin, LLP. She is a trial lawyer who represents clients in a variety of litigation matters in both state and federal court.

Perry E. Winter is a portfolio manager for The Commerce Trust Company. He works with their investment team to construct a portfolio to help clients’ achieve their long-term financial goals.